Energy

Sintana announces conditional definitive agreements for Block KON-16 in Angola

Last Updated:
Reading Time
3 min

Sintana Energy Inc. has announced definitive agreements covering its proposed acquisition of an indirect interest in Block KON-16 in the onshore Kwanza Basin, Angola. The transaction has not yet completed and remains subject to governmental, regulatory and third-party approvals, including requirements in Angola and applicable AIM and TSX Venture Exchange requirements.

#Agreement structure and proposed interest

The arrangements comprise a share purchase agreement and a shareholders’ agreement relating to Corcel KON-16 Limited, known as CorKon. CorKon is a Corcel Plc group company that will hold an 85% participating interest in Block KON-16.

Under the agreements, Sintana would acquire an indirect 5% participating interest in the block by purchasing shares in CorKon. The agreements also set out governance, funding and transfer arrangements for CorKon following completion.

In addition, Sintana would receive a net profit interest of 2.5% of Corcel’s net proceeds from Block KON-16 after first oil until aggregate payments of US$50 million have been made. The interest would then reduce to 1.5%.

#Consideration and completion conditions

The stated aggregate consideration is US$2.5 million. It consists of a US$500,000 initial payment previously made to Corcel and a US$2.0 million cash balance payable at completion.

Completion remains conditional upon governmental, regulatory and third-party approvals, including those required in Angola, as well as applicable AIM and TSX Venture Exchange requirements. The announcement says these matters are expected to be finalised prior to year-end 2026.

The transaction carries further terms, conditions and risks stated in the announcement, including the potential failure to obtain regulatory approvals or satisfy conditions precedent, changes to project parameters as plans are refined, environmental and other regulatory changes, actions by governmental authorities, capital-market availability, reliance on key personnel, and uninsured and underinsured losses.

#Block KON-16 operational update

Corcel reported that final PSTM seismic volumes from recently acquired 2D data had been received. The information is being incorporated into work on prospect maturation, well-location selection and partner technical reviews.

A geomechanical programme has also been completed, providing a basis for detailed drilling engineering and well design. NRG has been appointed to undertake the next phase of engineering and well design for the exploration drilling campaign.

#Exploration drilling target

Corcel has said it is targeting a pre-salt exploration well on Block KON-16 in 2027. The target remains subject to final technical selection, approvals, financing, rig availability and partner alignment. The announcement does not state that drilling has been approved, financed or scheduled on a completed basis.

#Company context

Sintana Energy Inc., identified in the announcement by the securities codes TSX-V:SEI, AIM:SEI and OTCQX:SEUSF, is the Canadian parent of a group focused on acquiring, exploring, potentially developing and ultimately monetising interests in hydrocarbon assets. The company states that its portfolio includes interests in Namibia and Uruguay, along with pending indirect interests in Namibia and Angola and legacy assets in Colombia and The Bahamas.

#Key Takeaways

  • Sintana has announced definitive agreements for an indirect 5% participating interest in Angola’s Block KON-16.
  • CorKon, a Corcel Plc group company, will hold an 85% participating interest in the block.
  • The proposed consideration is US$2.5 million, including US$500,000 previously paid and US$2.0 million payable at completion.
  • Completion remains subject to governmental, regulatory and third-party approvals, including requirements in Angola and applicable AIM and TSX Venture Exchange requirements.
  • Corcel is targeting a pre-salt exploration well in 2027, subject to final technical selection, approvals, financing, rig availability and partner alignment.

Original source: Read original article

Frequently Asked Questions

Sintana Energy Inc. has announced the entry into definitive agreements for the acquisition of an interest in Block KON-16 in the onshore Kwanza Basin, Angola. The agreements comprise a share purchase agreement and a shareholders’ agreement relating to Corcel KON-16 Limited (CorKon), which will hold an 85% participating interest in Block KON-16. The transaction remains conditional and has not yet completed.
The issuer is identified as Sintana Energy Inc., listed as TSX-V:SEI, AIM:SEI and OTCQX:SEUSF. The announcement states that Sintana is acquiring shares in CorKon, a Corcel Plc group company, to obtain an indirect interest in Block KON-16.
The agreements provide for Sintana to acquire an indirect 5% participating interest in Block KON-16 through CorKon. Sintana would also receive a net profit interest of 2.5% of Corcel’s net proceeds from Block KON-16 after first oil until aggregate payments of US$50 million have been made, reducing to 1.5% thereafter.
The aggregate consideration is US$2.5 million. This comprises a US$500,000 initial payment previously paid to Corcel and a US$2.0 million cash balance payable at completion. These are separate components of the stated consideration, and the cash balance remains payable at completion.
Completion remains conditional upon governmental, regulatory and third-party approvals, including those required in Angola, as well as applicable AIM and TSX Venture Exchange requirements. The announcement says these approvals and requirements are expected to be finalised prior to year-end 2026. The source also identifies risks including failure to obtain regulatory approvals or satisfy conditions precedent, changes in project parameters, environmental and other regulatory changes, actions by governmental authorities, availability of capital markets, reliance on key personnel, and uninsured and underinsured losses.
Corcel reported that final PSTM seismic volumes for recently acquired 2D had been received and were being incorporated into prospect maturation, well-location selection and partner technical-review processes. A geomechanical programme had also been completed, and NRG had been appointed for the next phase of engineering and well design for the exploration drilling campaign.
Corcel has confirmed that it is targeting drilling a pre-salt exploration well on Block KON-16 in 2027. The target remains subject to final technical selection, approvals, financing, rig availability and partner alignment. The source does not state that drilling has been approved, financed or scheduled on a completed basis.