Materials

BTU Reports Gold and Copper Intersections from Kinross Drilling at Dixie Halo

Last Updated:
Reading Time
3 min

BTU Metals Corp. has reported results from Kinross Gold Corporation’s 2026 Phase 1 drilling on the optioned Dixie Halo properties in Red Lake, Ontario. Eight holes were completed in the property’s TNT area, with gold mineralization reported in each hole and additional copper-silver mineralization identified in the drilling.

#Gold results from eight-hole program

The Phase 1 campaign covered 4,528.5 metres across eight drill holes. BTU said gold mineralization was present in every hole, with reported values ranging from < 1g/t Au up to as high as 6 g/t Au.

The drilling concentrated on the eastern portion of the Dixie Halo property, known as the TNT area.

#Copper and silver intersections

In addition to gold, the program encountered copper mineralization ranging from trace values to 0.530% copper and 8.22 g/t silver over a drilled interval of 16 metres.

The reported interval included individual results of 8.41% copper and 116 g/t silver over 0.4 metres. Drill hole BTU-26-15 also returned 3.9% copper and 71.8 g/t silver. The same hole intersected a 24.55m interval grading 0.626% copper and 12.61 g/t silver.

#Kinross option agreement and further drilling

Kinross has completed historic drill core relogging, airborne geophysics, outcrop mapping and a 2025 diamond drilling program comprising 8,204.7 metres. These activities form part of the requirements of the option agreement under which Kinross may earn a 70% interest in the BTU Dixie Halo project. The release does not state that the interest has been earned.

Kinross has indicated that it expects to restart drilling later in the year and complete Phase 2 of the 2026 program once equipment and technical personnel are available. BTU said targets for the next phase are being developed as remaining assay data becomes available. The expected focus is the TNT area, where Kinross continues to report broad copper-silver mineralization.

#BTU plans separate Wawa drilling

BTU has also sourced a drill contractor for an approximately 1,200 metre program covering the Hubcap and Centennial areas in Wawa, Ontario. The company expects to mobilize and begin the work in September.

BTU described the property as containing surface gold occurrences and shear zones with strong carbonate sericite alteration hosting quartz carbonate zones. The area has been explored intermittently since early in the 1900's and is now consolidated by BTU. No results from this planned program were provided.

#Company and securities information

BTU Metals describes itself as a junior mining exploration company. Its primary assets include the Dixie Halo Project in Red Lake, which is optioned to Kinross, and gold and critical minerals properties in the Wawa gold district. The company has also assembled the Dixie East land package east of the Great Bear Project and the Dixie Halo project.

The release states that BTU has no debt and minimal property obligations, while also warning that trading in the company’s securities should be considered highly speculative. It identifies BTU under TSX:V:BTU and states that, as of August 31, 2026, it will no longer be listed as BTUMF-OTC in the USA but will continue to trade on the Pink Sheets.

#Key Takeaways

  • Kinross completed eight Phase 1 drill holes totalling 4,528.5 metres at BTU’s Dixie Halo project.
  • Gold mineralization was reported in every hole, ranging from < 1g/t Au to as high as 6 g/t Au.
  • Copper-silver results included 0.530% copper and 8.22 g/t silver over 16 metres, with higher-grade individual intervals also reported.
  • Kinross has indicated that Phase 2 drilling is expected later in the year, subject to equipment and technical personnel availability.
  • BTU expects to begin an approximately 1,200 metre drill program at the Hubcap and Centennial areas in Wawa in September.

Original source: Read original article

Frequently Asked Questions

BTU Metals Corp. (TSX:V:BTU) reported highlights from Kinross Gold Corporation’s (K-TSX) 2026 Phase 1 drilling on BTU’s optioned Dixie Halo properties in Red Lake. Eight drill holes comprising 4,528.5 metres were completed, and gold mineralisation was encountered in every hole, ranging from < 1g/t Au up to as high as 6 g/t Au.
The drilling encountered copper mineralisation in addition to gold, with values from trace to as high as 0.530% copper and 8.22 g/t silver over a drilled interval of 16 metres. This included individual values of 8.41% copper and 116 g/t silver over 0.4 metres, and 3.9% copper and 71.8 g/t silver in hole BTU-26-15. That hole also intersected a 24.55m drilled interval grading 0.626% copper and 12.61 g/t silver.
To meet the requirements of the Kinross option agreement allowing it to earn a 70% interest in the BTU Dixie Halo project, Kinross has completed historic drill core relogging, airborne geophysics, outcrop mapping and a 2025 diamond drilling programme comprised of 8,204.7 metres. The source does not state that Kinross has earned the 70% interest.
Kinross has indicated it will restart drilling operations this year and expects to recommence later in the year to complete its 2026 programme. The source says Phase 2 will begin later in the year once equipment and technical personnel are available, with targets being developed as remaining assay data becomes available. The next programme is expected to focus on the Dixie Halo TNT area, where Kinross continues to find significant broad intervals of copper-silver mineralisation.
BTU has sourced a drill contractor for an approximately 1,200 metre programme covering the Hubcap and Centennial areas in Wawa, Ontario, and expects to mobilise and commence drilling operations in September. The property includes surface gold occurrences and shear zones exhibiting strong carbonate sericite alteration that host quartz carbonate zones. The source does not provide drilling results from this programme.
BTU describes itself as a junior mining exploration company. Its primary assets are the Dixie Halo Project in Red Lake, Ontario, optioned to Kinross, and gold and critical minerals properties in the active Wawa gold district. The company has also assembled the Dixie East land package east of the Great Bear Project and the Dixie Halo project. The source states that BTU has no debt and minimal property obligations, while also stating that trading in its securities should be considered highly speculative.
The source identifies BTU Metals Corp. as trading on TSX:V:BTU. It states that, as of August 31, 2026, in the USA, BTU will no longer be listed as BTUMF-OTC and will still be traded on the Pink Sheets. The release also states that no stock exchange, securities commission or other regulatory authority has approved or disapproved the information contained in it.